Nigeria grants 17 provisional licences to community broadcast organisations

National Broadcasting Commission (NBC) of Nigeria, has granted 17 provisional community broadcast licenses to community development organisations across the six geo-political zones of Nigeria.

“Community broadcasting recognised by the African Charter on Broadcasting as the third tier of broadcasting, is a key agent of democratisation for the highest level of government,” said Emeka Mba, the Director General of the NBC.

The community development associations include Dawanau market development association (Kano State, Agba Community Initiative (Benue State), Gelengu Community Development Association (Gombe State), Owerre-Nkoji Town Union (Imo State), EjuleNen Development Association (Ondo State) and Amassoma Information and Resource Centre (Bayelsa State).